How to nail a job interview πŸŒŸ

Hello everybody! How are you all doing today? I mentioned last week that I had applied for a new job, which I then went on to be interviewed for and I’m pleased to say I got the job. Hurrah! Since having my interview I thought it would be a good idea for me to share some of my favourite interview tips. I’ve had quite a few jobs over the years so I’ve definitely had a lot of interview experience and even though I’m no expert and these tips are pretty standard, I still thought I would share them with you 😊

1. PREPARE YOUR ANSWERS. 🌟
Obviously at an interview, you are going to be asked lots of questions in relation to why you should be chosen for the job. Before an interview, I always consider what questions I may be asked and prepare an answer. Sometimes you will be asked to give real life examples as to how you dealt with a situation so it’s good to reflect on other job roles or experiences you may have had. One question I get asked a lot at interviews is ‘how did you deal with a difficult customer and resolve a negative situation?’. I always reflect on a time that I had an angry customer who wanted to exchange a shirt which had a hole in, but we didn’t have another of the shirts in stock. To resolve this situation I offered to help him find a similar shirt (he needed one asap) and I also took his name and number to contact him when we got more of the original shirts in as he still wanted that one too. In the end he found a shirt which he loved even more than the original and was very grateful that I took the time to look around the store and find a similar shirt.
Other questions you may get asked at an interview are:
‘How have you organised your time in the past to meet deadlines?’
‘How would you work to create a relationship with your co- workers?’
‘What do you think would be the most important aspects of this job role?’
It may be a good idea to have a google of ‘Common Interview Questions’ as I’m sure you will find many more examples.

2. RESEARCH THE COMPANY. 🌟
Who have you applied to work with? Interviewers like you to know a little about the company when you go in, as it shows a genuine interest in the job. Lets face it, half the time when we apply for a job and the interviewer asks ‘What made you apply for this position?’ We are all thinking ‘I need money’, but thats probably not what the empoloyer wants to hear! It helps if you are genuinely interested in the place you have applied to work, but it’s also pretty easy to find out all you need to know about a company on google. When I had my interview for L’oreal, although I was already a fan of the brand, I knew a little research would go along way. I made sure to check out the company wikipedia page and find out a few key facts and when I was asked in the interview what I knew about the brand I was able to list about 3 – 4 different pieces of information, including L’oreal being the biggest beauty brand in the world.
You don’t have to become an expert on the place that you have applied for, but interviewers do appreciate it when you can tell them something about the company as like I said previously, it shows genuine interest in the job role and it shows that you have prepared for the interview and you are taking it seriously.

3. LOOK PRESENTABLE AND WEAR A SMILE. 🌟
I’m not saying you have to be a Glamour Queen when turning up to a job interview but taking pride in your appearance shows that you have some self respect. When attending an interview you really want to be the best version of yourself, so presenting yourself well will give off a really good impression and I think it makes you look more professional. Wearing a smile is good advice in any life situation but at an interview it will show the employer that you are a friendly, approachable, positive person. If I was an interviewer I would definitely be more drawn to a smiley person.

So there you have my top 3 interview tips ☺️ I’m no expert in this area but I just thought it may be fun / helpful to write up a post like this so hopefully you enjoyed it πŸ™‚
Another thing to remember is whether you get the job or not, it all counts towards experience. I’ve had lots and lots of interviews in the past and I’ve learnt something from all of them.

If you are applying for a job then I wish you the very best of luck 🌟

As always thankyou for reading, lots of love, Jennie ❀️ xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

