The Girl On The Train *Book review*.πŸš‰πŸ“–

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸšŠ by Paula Hawkins.

After seeing all the hype around this book and knowing I love a good thriller myself, I knew I would have to give ‘The girl on the train’ a read. I was going to buy this book from WHSmiths but I saw it in Sainsburys for around Β£3, which is such a bargain. Supermarkets are honestly such great places to pick up books for a cheaper price.

This book is exciting, and will keep you on the edge of your seat with it’s gripping storyline. It took me just one week to complete ‘The Girl On The Train’ and I would even risk having a nightmare to read this book before bed because I enjoyed it so much.

‘The Girl On The Train’ is about a young alcoholic woman – Rachel, who spends her days travelling to and from London on a train to keep up the pretence that she has a job, so her roommate doesn’t catch on that she’s actually unemployed. As she travels by train each day, she finds herself gazing at the houses outside the window and becomes fixated on one house in particular, the home of a young and in Rachel’s eyes ‘perfect’ couple. Rachel watches longingly at this couple everytime the train stops by their house and decides they have everything she could wish for, the perfect home, relationship and life. Soon this couple begins to mean alot to her and fantasising about their life day in day out, Rachel soon finds herself entangled in their story which turns out to be not as perfect as she imagined.

This book is very fast paced and exciting. There was never a dull moment whilst reading and it’s completely unpredictable. There are a few twists and turns in the story which I completely wasn’t expecting! Even when you think something seems predictable at first, boom, a clever and thoughtful plot twist comes along which makes everything more exciting and dramatic.

The book is entertaining throughout, with excitement on every page. This is a real intense thriller which often made my heart race in fear over what was going to happen, and leaving me completely wowed at the outcome. The plot twists in this story are incredible.

I really enjoyed ‘The Girl On The Train’ and would definitely reccommend it to all young adult / adult readers and all lovers of thrillers. I’ve already given it to my mum to read and she really enjoyed it, I’ve had conversations with my friend at work about how good it is and only the other day caught a girl reading it on the bus.

Have you read The Girl On The Train? If you have, be sure to let me know what you thought of it in the comments below.

Thankyou for reading. Love, Jennie. πŸ’š xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

13 thoughts on “The Girl On The Train *Book review*.πŸš‰πŸ“–

Leave a Reply

