My Favourite Day In Amsterdam. πŸ‡³πŸ‡± The Anne Frank House, The Ice Bar & More. β€οΈπŸ’™

Day 3 in Amsterdam was my absolute favourite day, I ticked things off my bucket list, visited the incredible Anne Frank house, made amazing memories with Emily and generally just had the most exciting and fun day ever.

We started the day with a visit to the Anne Frank house which was a short walk away from our hotel. Located by the Prinsengracht canal it was a surreal experience to visit the house that Anne Frank and her family hid in throughout the war. Stood looking from the upstairs window down onto the canal, it was very thoughtprovoking to know that Anne Frank once stood in that same room.

The museum was incredibly insightful, with photographs of Anne and her family lining the walls.

I learnt so much whilst at the museum and was surprised to find out that Anne actually kept her diary in the hopes of it being published after the war, it was her dream to be a writer.

image

Visiting the Anne Frank museum was such an insightful and overwhelming experience which brought me to tears. It’s truly one of the most incredible places I have ever been and I am so thankful that I had the opportunity to visit. I fully intend on visiting again in the near future, with plans to take my parents next year because I know my mum would love it just as much as me.

Following on from our amazing trip to the Anne Frank museum, it was time to tick ‘Having my picture taken in front of the I Amsterdam sign‘ off my bucketlist.

Before having our picture taken by the sign the coolest group of street performers turned up. A really talented and fun group of dancers, Emily and I watched with excitement as they spun on their heads, flipped around the square and busted some moves.

image

After the street performers had done their thing, we had our pictures taken in front of the sign and explored the area.

We found ourselves in a street with the most beautiful designer shops including Cartier and Chanel. Walking down this street left me feeling inspired and motivated to work hard and follow my dreams as I would absolutely love to shop in these places and be able to afford all of the luxuries.

We also saw the Van Gogh museum although we chose not to go inside, but maybe next time I visit I’ll put it on my list.

We walked back to the hotel and had a look in some of the shops on our way. The shops in ‘Dam are amazing, from Lush to Waterstones to Urban Outfitters, there is something for everyone. They were even in the process of building a Primark when we visited which I believe should now be open to the public. Amazing!

Back in ‘Dam square we stopped off at the fun fair and had a go on the coolest Fun House ever, then headed back to the hotel to chill for abit before an evening at the Ice Bar.

This was my first time ever visiting an Ice Bar and it’s always been something I’ve wanted to do.

When we arrived we were given 3 drink tokens, one for before heading into the Ice Room and two for once we were inside. We had a drink in the normal bar and were given big coats and gloves to put on to ensure we would be as warm as possible in the ice room.

After about 20 minutes of waiting it was time to go inside to the freezing cold Ice Bar. A room 100% made out of ice you can imagine how cold it was, but it was so cool (literally)!! Options for drinks were shots of spirits with even the shot glasses being made out of ice. To start with I chose a shot of Whipped Cream flavoured Vodka which was actually alright and my second shot was Vodka Nougat which wasn’t so nice, in fact it was disgusting, never again.

They had music playing inside the bar which made for a fun and exciting atmosphere, I had lots of fun dancing away which helped to keep me warm. Emily and I managed almost half an hour in there before getting too cold and having to leave.

image

We had so much fun at the Ice Bar and I’ll 100% be visiting one again.

image

We spent the rest of the evening wandering around ‘Dam and we visited the Red Light District for the last time that weekend.

image

Heading back to the hotel after the most wonderful day, it was time to pack up and get some sleep as it was home time for us the next day.

We spent our last day in Amsterdam shopping. I fell in love with the prettiest Burberry eyeshadow which unfortunately I couldn’t buy because they didn’t have any in stock however I was able to buy the prettiest Holland exclusive charms from Pandora which I absolutely love.

image

After spending all our money it was time to head to the airport, and time to say goodbye to the wonderful city of AMSTERDAM.

I had the most amazing time in Amsterdam, it was truly one of the best trips of my life so far and I am so thankful for the wonderful memories I made with Emily.

I can’t wait to visit again and I would 100% reccommend a trip to Amsterdam to anyone who hasn’t been. It’s an amazing place that everyone should visit!!

I hope you’ve all enjoyed my Amsterdam posts, thankyou so much for reading.

With love, Jennie. β€οΈπŸ‡³πŸ‡± xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Day In Amsterdam. πŸ‡³πŸ‡± The Anne Frank House, The Ice Bar & More. β€οΈπŸ’™

    1. Thankyou hun! Ah honestly you have to go. I was so embarassed no one else was crying or anything and I was trying to hold back these tears then there was just one part where I couldn’t hold it back any longer and I was in tears big time so yeah definitely take some tissues when you do go. It’s proper emotional but so amazing!! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi πŸ˜‹
    It’s lovely to stumble upon your blog! As I will be visiting Amsterdam next year for the first time it is quite fortuitous that the first post I see here is one Amsterdam!
    You have covered some significant ground here and I would love to trace your steps. The Anne Frank obviously is a must-see, as would be the city square.
    How many days were you there in the city?
    Please feel free to drop by my site too if you have a moment!
    Cheers
    Jolene

    Like

Leave a Reply

