Weekend Highlights – Wiltshire Weekender.

The weekend just gone was a real family affair.

I finished work on Friday and came home ready to celebrate, for it was my Nan’s 82nd birthday! Originally the plan was to go out for dinner at Prezzo’s¬†however the day before¬†Nan decided she would rather have a takeaway at home, so she along with my sister came over and joined my parents and I for a delicious Chinese meal. The evening was a¬†happy one, with great food and even greater company. We had lots of giggles and¬†good conversation and my Nan was really happy with her presents – I bought her a Green King restaurant voucher as she tends to¬†go at least once a week with her gals. I’ve always struggled buying gifts for my Nan as¬†there’s never anything she¬†particularly wants or needs and she has an abundance of framed photos and plants, so when I discovered her favourite restaurant sold gift cards I was struck with a lightbulb moment – I had found for her the perfect gift.

We spent the night watching the soaps, listening to Ed Sheeran and generally having a chit chat. We sang Nan happy birthday and had cake – the best part of any birthday in my opinion. We all had a great evening together filled with happiness and Nan said she very much enjoyed her birthday.

Saturday was a day for more family fun as my parents and I ventured down to Wiltshire to see my brother, sister in law and nephew! On the way, we made sure to stop off at McDonalds so I could get my favourite Mozzarella dippers, question though, why are there only 3 in a packet? I mean really!!! 3 Mozzarella dippers are just not enough.

When we arrived in Wiltshire we went straight to my brothers house and I was so excited to see my family, especially my little nephew Tommy. He is the cutest little lamb ever and he brings me so much joy,¬†I love spending time with him. At the moment, he’s obsessed with a book about Pirates which has to be accompanied by a CD – you sing the story rather than simply reading it. He loves it so much he had it on repeat and I found myself falling asleep last night with the song in my head. LOL.

17274569_1234453889983150_138009398_n
Little Tommy & I.

 

I also made sure to have lots of cuddles with Widget, my brothers dog! She is the cutest and simply loves to relax and be pampered.

17274677_1234454036649802_722162374_n
Chilling with Widget.

In the afternoon my parents and I checked into our hotel where we chilled out for a¬†little while,¬†I was ready to relax after the long drive so I cosied up in bed and read some of my book ‘The Valley Of Secrets’. I absolutely love hotels as they make me feel so relaxed and chilled and reading is one of my favourite hobbies, so in this moment I was in pure bliss.

 

17328042_1234653803296492_260489989_n.jpg
Books & Hotels, two of my favourite things.

Relaxed and content, it was soon time to head back to my brothers house where we played for a while before it was time for dinner. We decided to go out for dinner which I was more than happy about, in my opinion eating out with the family is a super special thing to do.

We went to the restaurant attached to¬†the hotel my parents and I were staying at, I was so excited to eat as I had already checked out the menu earlier in the day and decided on Garlic Chicken for my main, but then I was hit¬†with the¬†dissapointing news that¬†they didn’t have any available!¬†However all was forgiven by the time I’d had my dessert… anyone who knows me will know how much I love waffles¬†and since I’ve been back from Amsterdam I’ve struggled to find¬†one¬†which lives up to their standards¬†but the one I had on Saturday night has finally satisfied my cravings. Shout out to Brewers Fayre¬†for the best waffle I’ve had since ‘Dam, I will be back!

17270518_1234453936649812_1964498832_n
I need this in my life everyday please!!!

Going out for dinner with the family was lovely, I had a nice little chat with my brother, we all had great conversations, the dessert was so amazing I could have eaten it 5 times over, my mum and I watched Tommy play in the play area for a little while and I won him a cuddly toy from the crane machine #No1Aunt.

I had the nicest evening out for dinner with my family and I am so thankful we got to spend some lovely quality time together.

On Sunday my parents and I met up with the family in town and grabbed some breakfast at a café/ restaurant called Boswells. I had the most delicious fry up which was definitely my favourite meal of the weekend Рthe bacon was cooked to crispy perfection, the sausage was delicious, the egg was gorgeous and the hash browns were soooooo good, oh and how could I forget the yummy toast I dipped into my egg yolk?! 10/10 food. I will definitely be returning on my next visit to Wiltshire.

We then had a walk through town and my sister Zo√ę arrived to join us for the day. We fed the ducks which Zo√ę didn’t participate in as she says she isn’t a fan of the wing flapping ha ha ha.

We took a whole loaf of bread with us to feed the ducks and the birds but to be honest, they can’t have been very hungry as they barely even pecked at the food. There were pieces of bread just floating about the river so we decided to go for a little walk instead where Tommy dropped his brand new toy tractor off the bridge and into the river – oops! Luckily he wasn’t too upset as he had another one to occupy him and we made sure to keep a close eye on it so that one didn’t end up in the water too!

It was lovely to take a little walk and experience nature, I watched the birds and the ducks play and admired the beauty of the trees. I love being outdoors! I watched my brother stroll with his son, had giggles with my parents and sister and enjoyed seeing Tommy run and play.

17274765_1234454086649797_178355389_n
A little throwback picture to feeding the ducks at the beginning of the year (I didn’t get any pictures this time)!

 

My family and I spent the rest of the afternoon back at my brothers house and I enjoyed spending time with my sister in law and brother whilst Tommy napped. My brother was an absolute legend and made me a toasted waffle with Nutella as I mentioned how much I was craving one.

When Tommy woke up, we played and listened to the Pirate song again and had lots of cuddles together.

Then it was time to go home. My parents and I packed up the car and said goodbye to our loved ones, already looking forward to our next visit.

I had a lovely weekend with my family and I am thankful that I got to spend such lovely quality time with them!

I love my family.

What did you get up to at the weekend? I hope you all had a fab one!

Thank you for reading,

love,

Jennie.

‚ô•

4 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights – Wiltshire Weekender.

  1. Aw I love that you are such a family kind of girl…. Sweet Nan, I’m glad she enjoyed her bday- I need to come eat with your family, chinese food….those waffles…..YES PLEASE! Also I love my bacon crispy too, I don’t even want to be friends with people who don’t eat their bacon crispy hahah Ah your hair though- so long and gorgoeus!!!!! PS- 3 mozz sticks is totally NOT enough lol that’s just a tease, but what’s even worse is that our mcdonalds here don’t even sell mozz sticks!!!!

    xo, JJ

    Like

    1. Haha I love love love my fam!! Thank you hun! Omg I know right, we deffo eat good but then again so do you! Omg yes, literally if the bacon isn’t crispy I don’t want it… I find a lot of places never cook it crispy enough so I was really happy when this bacon came out perfect lol. Thank youuuuu!! Omg I know right – it’s like I’m just getting into them then bam, they’re all gone. Whaaaat? Your McDonald’s doesn’t sell them?? That’s mad why not? Thanks for your comment hun xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

