How To Survive A Broken Phone

*Disclaimer: This blog post is just a bit of fun and I’m well aware it’s not that deep that my phones broken. Had to throw this in here after my Dad mocked me for the title of the post *insert eye roll emoji here**.

Urgh, so this morning I broke my phone. How annoying. I woke up, the sun was shining, I was in a fab mood then bam, I ended up dropping my phone. You know I thought it was fine because the screen wasn’t smashed but alas I was wrong, the touch pad wasn’t working. I couldn’t swipe right to unlock my phone, I couldn’t press ‘stop’ on my alarm, I couldn’t do anything. It was so frustrating and I spent the best half of this morning in such a foul mood because of it, however I am truly blessed as this afternoon I met up with my besties for a picnic and a walk and they really helped to cheer me up and put me in a positive mood, plus Chantal was also kind enough to give me her old phone to borrow for the next couple of weeks until I can get mine fixed. Literally what a hun. I am so lucky to have such amazing, helpful, and positive friends who make me feel so happy whenever I’m with them.

14089234_1042299795865228_1205311395862795495_n
These gals tho.

 

As today I haven’t been able to use a phone (until Chantal so kindly lent me hers this evening) I had to find other ways to keep myself busy until I met up with the gals for our picnic this afternoon. With this I came up with the brilliant idea of creating a list of things to do when your phone is broken…

So voila, if you ever find yourself with a broken or lost phone, if you’re unable to use your phone or if you simply want a little social media detox, here’s some ideas of what you can do in those rare moments you’re not glued to your phone.

NUMERO UNO. Learn something!! As I couldn’t use my phone to listen to music whilst waiting for my fake tan to develop today I thought why not listen to a Spanish language tutorial on YouTube. I used my laptop to do this and I know technically this required technology but even so, I know for sure if my phone had been working I wouldn’t have been bothered to put on a Spanish lesson and I’d have just gone with the easy option of listening to my music. Whenever my phone is working and I intend to listen to a Spanish tutorial, I always get so distracted by twitter/ Facebook and Instagram so using my laptop was a welcome way to keep me interested. Plus you don’t need technology to learn, you may have a couple of non fiction books at home you never read and when better a time to pick one of those up and immerse yourself in knowledge than when your phones broken?!

NUMERO DOS. Read. Personally I love reading but lately I’ve just not been doing it enough. Last year I read twenty books and this year I’m only half way through my fourth. As much as I’m super busy lately, I know if I swapped Facebook for an actual book I would be getting through my to be read faster than you could say bookworm! I’m currently reading Pride and Prejudice and today has been the perfect day for me to get involved further in the novel since I haven’t been distracted by my phone.

19141541_1330089543752917_255094973_n

NUMERO TRES.Watch a TV show/film and give it your full attention. Does anyone else sit down at home to watch a TV show and spend the whole time with one eye on the screen and one eye on your phone, messaging friends back or tweeting your opinions on the show? A lot of the time when I’m ‘watching’ TV my phones still firmly in my hand and its very rare I give a programme my full attention unless I’m at the cinema or I’m watching my fav show Pretty Little Liars. As much as I love social media, TV and films are so much more enjoyable when you’re not constantly getting distracted by your phone and I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed of my Vampire Diaries re-watch because I’ve been so busy scrolling through social media. I don’t even know what’s going on half of the time so without a phone in hand, there’s no better time to really immerse yourself in your current Netflix binge or your fav movie you haven’t watched in years.

NUMERO CUATRO. Spend some quality time with your loved ones. How many people sit at home with the fam of an evening with phones in hands, barely glancing up to talk to one another? I’m not that bad as I’ve always been one for phones away when with friends and family but even so, I’m gonna admit that I’m more than guilty of it at times. A broken phone is the perfect opportunity to take the time to sit down with your friends and family and have some really great, uninterrupted conversations really listening to what one another’s saying. Even without a broken phone I think its so important to be more aware of spending time with your loved ones with your phones tucked away on silent, but that’s a thought for another time…

NUMERO CINCO. Write a gratitude list. Ah gratitude. Is there anything better? When you’re annoyed about something really quite trivial as a broken phone, there’s no better way to lift your spirits than to write a list of the things you’re grateful for. Writing a gratitude list with no distraction of social media is the perfect thing to do if you’re without a phone, as you can fully immerse yourself and consider all the things you have to be thankful for and really focus on all the blessings you have received in your life, so your feelings of gratitude become stronger than ever and your frequency is at it’s highest.

19096087_1330099110418627_210360105_o

Thankfully my bestie Chantal has now lent me her old phone for the time being, so I don’t have to worry too much about being without a phone but if there’s anything I’ve learnt from my stress this morning is that there is so much more to life than technology and there are so many more activities to get involved in that don’t revolve around social media. Even though I have a phone I can use now, I’m going to bare my ideas I’ve shared with you in mind and live more without my phone.

What do you like to do when not busy on social media? Let me know in the comments below.

I hope everyone enjoyed this post,

thank you all for reading,

love,

Jennie.

5 thoughts on “How To Survive A Broken Phone

  1. Ah Jennie!!!! First of all…you go girl with the whole counting in Spanish….those Spanish tutorials must be working 😉 But seriously though, ah I would totally freak out too if my phone broke. I mean I’m sure I could go a couple days without it and do things that you did too (actually it’d be great because I’d finally be able to read ALL the books I have on my list) but I think I’d have withdrawals REAL fast. When I’m not busy on social media….it means I’m usually on an adventure somewhere, so I’d so frolick or go on a day trip somewhere….maybe eat lol Working out I guess could be good but stinks without music…. ummm blog?! haha Are you planning on getting a new phone or just using the one the Chantal lent you?

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you!! They definitely are, I’ve been practicing everyday this week so far and it feels so good! Yes, it’s so frustrating. But yes definitely a great chance for you to read all your books!! For sure withdrawals happened after like 5 minutes for me. The way I would go to absentmindedly check my phone then realise I couldn’t! Ugh! Yes- I’m the same, I’m rarely on social media if I’m adventuring with my friends and fam. Working out is good but like you said really difficult without music- you’d have to get an old school CD player to do that. Yes- blogging was the first thing I turned to when my phone broke hence how this post came about, I needed to vent and do something I felt a little productive. I’m using the one Chantal let me for know then when I’m paid I’ll just get mine fixed. I’m so lucky Chantal has sent me hers! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh God I hate it when your phone breaks. It feels weird not using it as it’s always there! Love your suggestions though. I always get distracted checking my phone so if I didn’t have one I’d read and do other stuff much more x

    Like

    1. It’s so annoying isn’t it!? Definitely, it’s like losing a limb (maybe not that serious haha). Thank you hun!! Yes me too 100%. Trying to be more conscious now of not using it so much when reading etc. x

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha I know. I think that’s why I only get things half done. I get distracted look at my phone🙈 It’s so bad. I need to put it in a diff room so I can read x

        Like

Leave a Reply

