Los Angeles, Cali | Bucket List Ticks

Back when I was 14/15 (forgive me for it was a while ago, I can’t remember my exact age) my parents took myself and my brother on the holiday of a lifetime, two weeks in America based in California, road tripping over to Arizona, Nevada and Mexico. The ultimate bucket list holiday.

Packing in so much during the course of those two weeks I’ve decided to split this post in two otherwise you could be here reading for quite a while. Best to keep it short(ish) and sweet right? For todays post, I’ll be talking about my Californian adventure!

We visited in October and the weather was beautiful as ever with sunshine everyday. We stayed at the Staybridge Suites hotel in Los Angeles and there isn’t a more perfect place for sunshine, high temperatures and beach vibes. Our hotel was so near Disney Land the pool was Mickey Mouse shaped!

CNV00006.JPG

We explored everywhere from Laguna Beach to Malibu, we strolled down the Walk of Fame and even got to take a helicopter ride around LA, admiring the views of Paris Hiltons pink house, the beautiful beaches and the Hollywood Sign as we flew. It was a wonderful experience I wish I could relive.

This was my first ever and only time flying in a helicopter and it was so cool. Like I already said, I wish I could relive it. I would love to ride in a helicopter again – Emily and I are hoping to go to Vegas next year so perhaps then?!

As it was such a long time ago, I don’t remember everything so clearly or which beach I visited was which, but I remember the atmosphere was always so friendly. I believe it was along Venice Beach where a guy stopped us to sell us his mixtape, my brother ended up actually buying it and he said I could have it for my birthday present! I never even listened to that tape but I remember the cover art being quite gangster, I wish I knew where it ended up. Imagine it could have been a mixtape of someone who is now famous!!!

Just a few of the beaches we visited in LA –

Recognise any? I’m gonna take a wild guess and say these photos were taken at Venice Beach but I’m not 100% sure. I asked my Dad and even he couldn’t tell me, his guess was Laguna Beach but who knows?

American dining in Laguna Beach, one of my Dads favourite places. Look how happy my Mum looks!

CNV00009

Skies so blue in Malibu

How photogenic is this place? I can see why it’s such a popular location for filming. Whilst we were there, there was actually some type of photoshoot going on. I’m not sure what it was for, but there was a car and a big parasol which looked so beach-y gorgeous. We really didn’t stay long whilst there, we pretty much just took some photos and left and how gorgeous did they come out? Such a dreamy setting, it’s definitely on my bucket list to return.

Speaking of parasols, here’s me getting my palm read at the beach. Also spot my Team Jacob bag, I was such a little Twi-hard.

CNV00002.JPG

Now somehow I don’t think this lady was quite legit. I could be wrong but she seemed to contradict a lot of what she was saying, one minute saying I didn’t have an adventurous streak the next saying I did! What is it then? Bless her soul! To be fair, we probably only paid about $10 for the reading so anything she said was to be taken with a pinch of salt all in the name of fun!

As I mentioned in my NYC post sometimes it’s the simple things in life that mean the most and some of my fondest memories of my holiday to California are of the mornings spent watching Phineas and Ferb with my brother, waiting for my Dad to bring us back doughnuts for breakfast. We would spend a good couple of hours watching the Disney Channel before actually leaving the hotel for the day but hey, how can you switch the TV off when Perry the Platypus is on?

I made some wonderful memories with my family in California and discovered one of my favourite places in the world. Los Angeles is one of my favourite places ever and I will always remember that feeling I had driving along the highway to our hotel, I never felt so alive or at home. I truly hope I get the chance to visit LA again soon, I would go back in a heartbeat if I could and I’m so thankful I got the opportunity to visit with my parents and brother. Until the next time

LA I love you!

CNV00023.JPG

Have you ever been to California / LA? Would you like to go? Let me know in the comments below.

Thank you all for reading,

love,

Jennie.

β™₯

7 thoughts on “Los Angeles, Cali | Bucket List Ticks

  1. I love and miss LA so much! I did all of those stops too minus Malibu which I was devastated that I had to miss out on, also the Santa Monica Pier, those two things I need to go back for. But Venice Beach and Laguna were definitely prime spots to check out loved it there. Always Cali dreaming *sigh* ❀

    xo, JJ

    Like

    1. Oh no, how come you didn’t get to do Malibu? I so wanna go back. I don’t think we did Santa Monica Pier either, in fact I don’t even know anything about that place, is it a famous spot? Yess they are. So am I, like errrrrrryday I swear xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love LA, there’s so much to do over there! The times I’ve gone have been amazing. πŸ™‚ (I was actually born there but moved when I was young). I honestly don’t think I would love living there but I could definitely keep re-visiting time and time again! So glad you had fun down there! xx

    Like

    1. It’s a wonderful state right? Oh wow how cool!!! How old were you when you moved? Ah see I don’t think I could complain if I lived there, although I think that about everywhere I’ve been in the USA, especially Arizona- that looked a beautiful place to grow up. Re-visits are definitely a must, you’re so lucky you’ve been a couple of times, do you live close? Thanks hun xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think 3? That’s when we moved to Mexico, then we moved around some more two years later down south lol.
        I just wouldn’t live there because of traffic. XD But that’s about it. Then again, it’s getting really bad over here too. For some reason everyone is moving to my state and it sucks because rent prices are spiking!
        And no I live like 16 hours away (driving) and about 2 flying? It’s not far but it’s not always in my budget to go. LOL

        Like

      2. That’s so cool! You’ve lived everywhere lol. Ahhh I see, that’s fair enough! But the weathers so beaut there you could just walk! Oh really?? That’s unfortunate but hopefully it won’t get too bad? Okay, yeah I guess not and sometimes the closest places seem the farthest away also!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

