Smashbox Be Legendary ‘SCREEN QUEEN’ Matte lipstick review.

Smashbox is one of my favourite go to brands for lipsticks, definitely up there in my top 3. Smashbox’s lipsticks are great quality and with 120 colours recently added to an already gorgeous collection, there really is a shade for everyone. As one of my local Smashbox MUA says,ย ‘If you can’t find the colour you’re looking for with Smashbox, it doesn’t exist’. A bold statement, but with purples, blues, greys, nudes, pinksย and more all in one collection, it’s one that rings true.

Today I am going to be reviewing Smashbox’s SCREEN QUEEN matte lipstick. One of the many beautiful colours the brand have to offer.

I’m going to start with the name. ‘Screen Queen’ is such a cool name, it just reminds me of the TV show Scream Queens. I think it’s a really fun, creative name for a lipstick and definitely suits the dark burgundy shade of this one. Even if the lipstick wasn’t all that I think I’d be tempted to buy it just for the name. The packaging is also really cool and simple, being just a plain black rectangle shape with Smashbox’s logo along the side.

Screen Queen is a deep burgundy full matte lipstick and is perfect for the up and coming Autumn Winter season. I absolutely love wearing this shade for a really vampy and sexy look on a night out, but it also looks great when worn in the daytime with big jumpers and coats for a cute Autumnal / Winter makeup look.

The colour is very bold but it does take a couple of applications to really reach it’s full potential. I find just one application of the lipstick to be a little patchy so give it another layer and bam, you’ve got a solid bold burgundy lip that is absolutely poppin’.

Because the colour is very bold, I find this lipstick works best with a lipliner to smooth out the edges, L’Orรฉal’s lipliner in the shade 300 Velvet Robe works an absolute dream alongside Screen Queen. Using this liner really helps to define the lips and makes for a much smoother and flawless finish.

The texture of this lipstick is quite firm, not too creamy but not too stiff, once applied to the lips it warms up to become more spreadable and although you can definitely feel you have it on, it feels really nice to wear and isn’t in any way drying.ย Smashbox lipsticks are designed to last all day and I found the longevity to be perfectly fine for the most part however I did have to reapply after eating and drinking.

I absolutely love this lipstick, the colour is absolutely gorgeous and I love that it’s a matte finish. I think this is the perfect lipstick for the up and coming months and I can’t wait to wear it more and more this Autumn and Winter.

I would definitely reccommend Smashbox lipsticks, retailing at ยฃ17.50 I think they are great quality and I will definitely be treating myself to some more in the near future.

Do you own any Smashbox lipsticks? Would you like to try them? Let me know in the comments below.

Thankyou for reading, love Jennie. ๐Ÿ’„๐Ÿ’‹

 

6 Comments

Leave a comment